Stones Roll Uphill Only When Pushed

Posted on January 2, 2012

5



Several years ago, the company I worked for was going through a tough transition. Morale was at an all-time low. One day Insightful-Incredible Boss gave an impromptu speech about the mythological Sisyphus. As punishment for his hubris, Sisyphus was forced to forever push the same stone up the same hill only to have it roll back down.

Over and over again.

I know the tale was meant to illustrate a number of things about pride, hard work, change, denial, etc. but what I took away was this: we get so caught up in futility that it becomes routine. (That’s what made Insightful-Incredible Boss so insightful and incredible. She said one thing but the implications went far deeper.)

When it comes to food, I am Lady Sisyphus who pushes the same fake food stone up the same hill day after day. I choose to do that. After all, stones roll uphill only if they are pushed.

I began a journey to healthier living in 2008. I lost over 30 lbs., began running and became a better person. Endorphins became my new best friend. But as the years have gone by, I have failed to tackle one important thing: the quality of the food I eat.

I finally realize that I have become comfortable with the notion of futility. This blog is the beginning of the end of my comfort with that.

