You Have a New Bud. His Name is Fat. He Lives at CD36.

Posted on January 16, 2012

1



“Receptor for Tasting Fat Identified in Humans”

When I first skimmed this story, I could almost hear the collective “Duh.” 

To summarize, our tongues have tastebuds. They detect sweet, sour, salt, bitter and savory (known as Umami).  Researchers from Washington University School of Medicine (in St. Louis) now say there’s an additional taste bud that can detect fatty foods.

Okay, say it with me, “Duh.”

Apparently, there’s a variant of gene CD36 that makes some people gifted at detecting fat.  If you are lucky enough to possess the variant, you can sense fat like nobody else! Lucky you!

What the study doesn’t tell us is if there is a connection between detection of fatty food and ingestion of fatty food. Bummer. We have to wait for that answer.

I have my suspicions, though.

