Finding Courage in My Chick Peas

Posted on January 25, 2012

1



The Sisyphus household contains a plethora of palates (including one vegetarian) so my meals are often an exercise in “Whom will I disappoint the least tonight?” The good news is it’s usually me! Ha!

I am not an adventurous cook. I use recipes. A lot. I subscribe to a couple of cooking magazines and scour the web when possible.

My weekly meal planning goes like this:

  1. Look at magazines or web resources on Sunday.
  2. Get distracted by the pretty photos.
  3. Quickly select at least five recipes for the week’s dinners.
  4. Make a detailed list of ingredients.
  5. Forget list, shop on Wednesday with Lol-ly Wit at the BF Corn and have fun anyway.
  6. Monday-Friday, fail to cook the planned dishes (because I forgot the list or there are too many other things going on).
  7. Stick to the usual family favorites.
  8. Rinse and repeat.

Please tell me I’m not the only one!

One my resolutions is to be more courageous in my cooking. I don’t “wing it” very often. Cooking involves understanding how different foods, textures and flavors co-mingle. If there’s a recipe, I’m brilliant! Without one, I am lost.

I have a great base in that I know how to roast a chicken, carve it up and then turn the carcass into stock. I know how to make basic soups, sauces and chilis. I know what staples should be in my pantry. I don’t fear my knives. But, I haven’t ventured too far from my cooking comfort zone.

Today, I resolved to throw something together with whatever I had on hand. If it worked, great. If not, I wouldn’t tell anybody. My goal was to make something vegetarian with protein and a little crunch. I also wanted to use my coconut oil since I keep hearing about how good it is (although I am not finding much credible info. on whether that’s true or not.)  I am pleased to report my experiment worked! The carrots and red onions gave a good crunch while the miso and vinegar were a good savory/tangy combination.  I am sure there are ways to jazz this up and I welcome any suggestions!

In the meantime, I am impressed with myself.

Sisyphus Bulgur Chick Pea Miso Madness

  • Bulgur wheat, 2 C cooked
  • 1 tsp coconut oil
  • 1/2 red onion
  • 1 carrot, diced
  • garlic, two cloves finely chopped
  • 1 to 2 C chopped Napa cabbage
  • chick peas, 15 oz. can, drained (or 2 C pre-soaked)
  • one tomato, chopped
  • 1 tbsp Miso
  • 1 tsp rice vinegar

Cook bulgur and drain. Set aside. Saute vegetables (except tomato) in coconut oil over med-high heat for a few minutes until cabbage wilts a little. Add chick peas, cook for 1 minute. Add in tomato, miso and vinegar. Turn off heat. Add bulgur to pan, toss and serve. Looks like it serves four.

