Go LA Unified Schools!

Posted on January 30, 2012

2


I applaud the LA Unified schools for committing to healthier lunches for kids. Unfortunately, despite significant buy-in and student taste-testing, the healthier lunches aren’t going over so well. Some kids are downright angry. http://www.mercurynews.com/breaking-news/ci_19842315

To me, this is an important tipping point. The district could give in to the kids, serve easy-to-prepare and cheaper foods full of salt, fat, sugar and refined grains OR it could continue with the healthier options. I hope they stick with the latter because it could start a pretty big domino effect.

Maybe a few more government subsidies would finally go to farmers who focus on fruits and vegetables. Maybe kids’ palates would begin to change so that hyper-flavored foods wouldn’t hold as much appeal. Maybe…

I look forward to watching this unfold.

In the meantime, I will continue my own journey toward a more mature palate.

