Day 1: I Can Do Anything! I Can’t Do Anything!

Posted on June 7, 2012

0


Isn’t that the way it always is? You start something new and the first day is full of promise and excitement. So it goes with Lady Sisyphus as I embark on a 30-day sugar-free journey. Today should be easy.

6:30 am – I had cereal for breakfast. I need to put more thought into this meal. Usually I have oatmeal or a whole grain bread with peanut butter. Those are probably better options since they are more “whole” and have protein. Lately, I have been relying on the convenience of boxed cereal. Even though I opted for a low-sugar cereal (when compared to most, that is) I am already 2 teaspoons into my six teaspoon limit for the day. I wonder if it will effect my blood sugar and prompt cravings. That makes me wonder how long sugar effects my system. A quick Google search gave me an answer, at least about blood sugar: http://www.livestrong.com/article/448193-how-long-after-eating-does-blood-sugar-peak/.  Blood sugar amps up after 15 minutes and peaks 30-45 minutes after eating. Spikes are lower with lower glycemic foods (whole/unprocessed). Fewer spikes means less cravings.

11 am – I am doing well. I went for a four mile run/walk after breakfast and have had a productive morning.

8 pm – Well, day one is a failure. I didn’t have time for lunch, had to go grocery shopping and pick up/deliver kids. I didn’t plan well. I didn’t plan at all.  Let’s just say today involved frozen pizza, tic tacs and strawberry shortcake. The good news is that it also involved fresh fruit and a salad.

On to day two…

