Day 2, Part 1: Reboot

Posted on June 8, 2012

0


Lady Sisyphus’ 30-day journey to no added sugar.

Yesterday was a failure. Today I woke up with that thought on my mind. “You’re a failure.” What a great way to start the day!

So the first thing I must do is give myself a pep talk. Failure is not an option.

This is simple.
You CAN do this.
You CAN stick with a plan.
You are worth it.
Think of how great you will feel.

You’d think I was about to embark on some important mission. My brain knows how simple this is but the rest of me approaches this as if I’ve been asked to personally infiltrate a terrorist cell. “You want me to do what?!”

Today I will have a better plan for the afternoon. I do find that meal planning is more difficult with three non-driving teens in the house. I usually have a plan and it invariably changes because their schedules change. Also, we are in temporary housing so the usual cooking conveniences of home are missing, things like herbs, food storage containers, certain knives, recipe books, etc.

And I am just plain sad about moving and not all that motivated to care about what I eat anyway.

But those are just excuses.

8 am Breakfast. Cereal and banana. 2 teaspoons of sugar. It’s not ideal but it will have to do for today.

Facing forward and marching on…

Posted in: Healthy Eating